Lechu Neranena

Morocco – Kabbalat Shabbat

About the Mizmor

The group of Psalms 92-100 is introduced by the words “A Psalm, a song, for the Sabbath day” (92:1), revolves around the idea of God’s sovereignty and might (92:9; 93:1; 94:2; 95:3; 96:4; 97:1; 98:9; 99:1 and 100:3), and concludes with a call to all nation to praise and worship God with joy. The special message conveyed in these psalms secured for them a place of honor in the prayer book. Psalms 92 (Mizmor shir leyom hashabbat) and 93 ( Adonay malach geut lavesh) are the central part of Kabbalat Shabbat, 94 (El nekamot) is the psalm for Wednesday and 100 (Mizmor letoda) is recited every day in the Morning Prayer. The remaining Psalms, 95-99, were included in the prayer as an introduction to the Friday night services in many communities. The idea of God’s sovereignty resonates emphatically with Shabbat since only a mighty ruler can allow himself to cease completely of all activity, as indeed it is written in the Ten Commandments (Ex. 20:11): “For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth and sea, and all that is in them, and He rested on the seventh day”. This is reiterated in the opening of this psalm (95:4): “In His hands are the depths of the earth, the peaks of the mountains are His. His is the sea, He made it; and the land which His hands fashioned”. The psalm is usually chanted by the whole congregation with one of the various tropes of Psalms and serves as a wonderful introduction to the Shabbat prayers.

Lechu Neranena can be found on the recordings of Piyutim North America. The text is taken from Psalms 95.



1. Lechu neranena la’Adonay, naria letzur yishenu
2. Nekadma panav betoda, bizmirot naria lo.
3. Ki El gadol Adonay, u’melech gadol al kol Elohim
4. Asher beyado mechkerei aretz, veto’afot harim lo
5. Asher lo hayam vehu asahu, veyabeshet yadav yatzaru
6. Bo’u nishtachaveh venichra’a, nivrecha lifnei Adonay osenu
7. Ki hu Elohenu, va’anachnu am marito vetzon yado, hayom im bekolo tishma’u
8. Al takshu levavchem kimriva, keyom massa bamidbar
9. Asher nisuni avotechem, bechanuni gam ra’u fa’oli
10. Arbaim shana akut bedor vaomar am to’ei levav hem, vehem lo yad’u derachai
11. Asher nishbati be’api, im yevoun el menuchati


Translation from the JPS Tanakh.

1. Come, let us sing joyously to the Lord
raise a shout for our Rock and deliverer;
2. Let us come into His presence with praise;
let us raise a shout for Him in song!
3. For the Lord is a great God
the great King of all divine beings
4. In his hand are the depths of the earth
the peaks of the mountains are His
5. His is the sea, He made it;
and the land, which His hands fashioned
6. Come, let us bow down and kneel,
bend the knee before the Lord our maker,
7. For He is our God
and we are the people He tend, the flock in His care.
O, if you but heed His charge this day:
8. Do not be stubborn as at Meribah,
as the day of Massah, in the wilderness,
9. When your fathers put Me to the test,
tried Me, though they had seen My deeds
10. Forty years I was provoked by that generation
I thought, “they are a senseless people;
they would not know My ways.”
11. Concerning them I swore in anger
“they shall never come to My resting-place!”.




  • Musical Direction and Arrangements: Yair Harel and Omer Avital
  • Production: Ari Priven, Yair Harel and Omer Avital
  • Mixing and editing: Daniel Freedman
  • Mastered by: Randy Merrill at Masterdisk
  • Recorded at B’nai Jeshurun, New York City, July 2010